Central Virginia Aquarium Support

Central Virginia Aquarium Support is a discussion and help group for aquarium hobbyists, newcomer to advanced!

HomePortalCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
... Welcome to Central Virginia Aquarium Support! ... ... Here you can discuss anything aquarium related - meet interesting folks - find equipment and trade fish! ... ... "What's Going On?" Click for a list of Local Meetings and Events ... ... *Latest fish article!* Figure-8 Puffer Article ... ... *Latest plants article!* Dwarf Hygro Article ... ... MEMBERS SHOWCASE see The HOME Page! ...

Share | 

River Tanks

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
direwolf82
CVASMember

PostSubject: River Tanks   Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:54 pm

As I have been morphing my 55 gal from community to river tank I did not want to add powerheads on one end and big sponge filters at the other. I just am not a fan of the look nor the extra cost of two powerheads. Seeing as I am a plumber I decided to use some PEX water piping to make a river tank manifold. With the intake on the far end as delivered from the maker, I built a three port bar the runs across the bottom of the tank pointing down the length of the tank. Happily the hose from my canister filter at 5/8 id fits right onto the pex fittings and a few clamps gets that done. I cut some granite from a countertop, cleaned the polish off and smoothed the edges and made a cave around the exhaust nozzles. To supply the air I put 2 airstones in front of the nozzles, to my chagrin they just did not produce the effect I was after. Then I scrapped the airstone and just drilled 2 holes in the actual piping before the exhaust nozzles and crammed the airline into it, better but not quite there. Added 1 airstone in front of the nozzles and wham, that got it. The flow is terrific and now virtually all my loaches stay hanging out right in the heaviest flow, and it is super funny to watch the peacock eel's tail whipping out from