Central Virginia Aquarium Support

Central Virginia Aquarium Support is a discussion and help group for aquarium hobbyists, newcomer to advanced!

HomePortalCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
... Welcome to Central Virginia Aquarium Support! ... ... Here you can discuss anything aquarium related - meet interesting folks - find equipment and trade fish! ... ... "What's Going On?" Click for a list of Local Meetings and Events ... ... *Latest fish article!* Figure-8 Puffer Article ... ... *Latest plants article!* Dwarf Hygro Article ... ... MEMBERS SHOWCASE see The HOME Page! ...

Share | 

New to the CVAS Forum

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
starwarz
CVASMember

PostSubject: New to the CVAS Forum   Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:35 am

I'm Josh from Staunton VA and I am still new to the hobby, only having a tank since Nov 2012.  I have 3 tanks, a 44g corner tank, a 10g at work and a 5g for my kids.  The 44g tank I purchased from Craigslist and in Oct of 2012 and had to redo all of the seals since one had a leak, and the rest I wanted to make sure wouldn't leak.

In the 44g my current stock consists of 5 Gold Line Rasbora, 5 Tiger barbs, 2 red eye tetras, 3 Buenos Aires tetras, 2 Kuhli loaches, 1 Roseline Shark, 1 Rainbow Shark, and 1 large common pleco.  About 3 months ago I had a heater malfunction the super heated the tank and killed all of the tiger barbs I had except one, 3 kuhli loaches and 3 red eye tetras.  So the Tiger Barbs, Buenos Aires are all pretty new to the tank.  I know the Tiger Barbs can be a little aggressive, but so far everyone in the tank seems to be getting along very well.  I did try to grow some plants in this tank but due to lack of light and CO2 I was unsuccessful, so for now fake plants will have to do.