Central Virginia Aquarium Support

Central Virginia Aquarium Support is a discussion and help group for aquarium hobbyists, newcomer to advanced!

HomePortalCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
... Welcome to Central Virginia Aquarium Support! ... ... Here you can discuss anything aquarium related - meet interesting folks - find equipment and trade fish! ... ... "What's Going On?" Click for a list of Local Meetings and Events ... ... *Latest fish article!* Figure-8 Puffer Article ... ... *Latest plants article!* Dwarf Hygro Article ... ... MEMBERS SHOWCASE see The HOME Page! ...

Share | 

Howdy... Newbie here

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
cholt
CVASMember

PostSubject: Howdy... Newbie here   Mon Sep 08, 2014 8:41 am

Just wanted to say hello. Also want to say sorry for my writing style up front.

I'm new to the aquarium world. My family had a outside Goldfish pond growing up(fish started out at about 2" long with fan tails and grew to be 6-8" long an breeding in the pond) and i have always loved going to aquariums. It never really dawned on me to get one of my own for the house till i found my old iguana tank from when i was a kid at my mothers house with my kids(ages 7, 4 and 1). So i started looking for parts to turn that tank into a aquarium. I soon realized it would be cheaper to buy a new outfit than to upgraded that one as well as to get one that would fit better in its final location. I turned to Craigslist an sold my old tank and was able to pickup a new setup on sale at one of the big chain stores for what i sold my tank setup for. I really wish i could have found a good used setup on Craigslist. They were either huge tanks or out of my price range. Doing this on a tight budget.