Central Virginia Aquarium Support

Central Virginia Aquarium Support is a discussion and help group for aquarium hobbyists, newcomer to advanced!

HomePortalCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
... Welcome to Central Virginia Aquarium Support! ... ... Here you can discuss anything aquarium related - meet interesting folks - find equipment and trade fish! ... ... "What's Going On?" Click for a list of Local Meetings and Events ... ... *Latest fish article!* Figure-8 Puffer Article ... ... *Latest plants article!* Dwarf Hygro Article ... ... MEMBERS SHOWCASE see The HOME Page! ...

Share | 

A Word For Newbies!!!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Passionweed
CVASMember

PostSubject: A Word For Newbies!!!   Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:20 pm

I'm fairly new with aquariums...started last December and FINALLY...through much trial and error I got my tank cycled and my
guppies were doing wonderfully for 4 months.

My aquarium is in the basement of my home....where my office is.  I like to watch them while I work.  Since it's been so humid
lately it has really gotten stuffy and musty smelling in the basement and I did something (so innocently)...and it wiped out my
tank within 8 hours.

I took a can of fabreeze air freshener and sprayed about 3/4's of the can all over the basement to get rid of the musty smell.  My
tank has a fairly large opening in the top of it.  I had no idea that this was a deadly chemical to fish.  I noticed within a couple
hours of spraying it (I had yet to make the correlation between the spray and the fish's reaction), the fish started hanging at the
top of the tank and swimming listlessly.  One by one, they darted upside down, all around the tank....and died.

I quickly did a partial water change (50%) and tested my water (all parameters were perfect).  It was too little, too late.  By the
next morning every single fish was gone.