Central Virginia Aquarium Support

Central Virginia Aquarium Support is a discussion and help group for aquarium hobbyists, newcomer to advanced!

HomePortalCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
... Welcome to Central Virginia Aquarium Support! ... ... Here you can discuss anything aquarium related - meet interesting folks - find equipment and trade fish! ... ... "What's Going On?" Click for a list of Local Meetings and Events ... ... *Latest fish article!* Figure-8 Puffer Article ... ... *Latest plants article!* Dwarf Hygro Article ... ... MEMBERS SHOWCASE see The HOME Page! ...

Share | 

A lesson remembered a lesson learned

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
lilpieceofnature
CVASMember

PostSubject: A lesson remembered a lesson learned    Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:50 pm

A couple of years ago I purchased some amazon swords from a local dealer . I was a newbie to the planted tank theme. I was ok with banana plants an A castle.I visited a club members home from another forum an he had a 125 dated start 1985 walstad set up one inch of soil , clay, sand , an drift wood. He told me to stop sticking my hand in concentrating on a look I wanted the natural look algae carpet on rocks for fry to hide an its finally c omming. I must say it also keep my fish breeding more. So to the just getting started keep your hands out moving around fixtures just relax an less the fish show you the look they want.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.mrcstanks.com
JohnnyAMH
CVASMember

PostSubject: Re: A lesson remembered a lesson learned    Tue Feb 16, 2016 9:42 pm

I agree with your friend. A sterile tank is a boring tank. IMHO, planted tanks are always a work in progress. I seldom move plants around, but when I'm lucky I have to do a tittle trimming and thinning...Cool

~~~ My Aquariums ~~~
55 gal. Planted Community Show Tank
(Swordtails, Neons, Kuhlii Loaches and Bristled Nose Plecos)
30 gal. Bare Bottom Adult Angelfish Tank